Projektinformationen

  • StandortVancouver, BC
  • AuftraggeberUBC Properties Trust
  • ArchitektActon Ostry Architects & Hermann Kaufmann Architekten
  • Größe157,000 ft2 (14593 m2)
  • BudgetCAD 51 Mio.
  • ZertifizierungZielsetzung LEED Gold

Als die University of British Columbia ein Studentenwohnheim mit 404 Betten als Hochhaus aus Holz vorschlug, war Fast + Epp sehr daran interessiert, seine Expertise in das Projekt einzubringen. Wir wussten, dass das Gebäude mit dem gleichen Budget eines traditionellen Stahlbetonhochhauses, aber in einem Bruchteil der Zeit gebaut werden kann.

 

Als Bausatz konzipiert, bestand unsere Lösung aus 17 Geschossen mit fünfschichtigen Brettsperrholzplatten, einer aussteifenden Betondeckenscheibe auf der zweiten Ebene und einem Stahlrahmendach. Die Brettsperrholzplatten werden punktgestützt von Brettschichtholzstützen getragen, die alle auf der Betondeckenscheibe aufliegen, während zwei Betonkerne auf gesamter Höhe für Seitenstabilität sorgen. Durch die Nutzung der zweiachsigen Spannrichtung der Brettschichtholzplatten konnten wir auf die Träger eines klassischen Pfosten-Riegel-Systems (zusammen mit arbeitsintensiven Verbindungen) verzichten, was die Kosten und den Zeitaufwand für die Herstellung und Montage drastisch reduzierte.

Ein Schlüssel zum Erfolg des Projekts war die frühzeitige Abstimmung. Ein zweigeschossiges Mock-Up und eine 3D-Modellierung ermöglichten es dem Planungsteam, den Prozess vor der Montage zu diskutieren, zu testen und zu optimieren. Weniger als 70 Tage nach Eintreffen der vorgefertigten Bauteile stand die Holzkonstruktion – vier Monate früher als bei einem typischen Projekt dieser Größenordnung.

Nach seiner Fertigstellung im Jahr 2017 wurde das Holzhochhaus mit einer Höhe von 52m als das höchste Massivholz-Hybridgebäude der Welt anerkannt.

Awards

  • BC Public Service

    2018 Premier's Award

  • ACEC-BC

    2018 Award of Excellence

  • ACEC-BC

    2018 Lieutenant Governor’s Award

  • Wood Design BC

    2018 Large Institutional Wood Design

  • Canadian Wood Council

    2018 Wood Innovation Award

  • Canadian Wood Council

    2018 Engineer Award

  • CTBUH

    2018 Innovation Award Finalist

  • Canadian Green Building Council - 2018 Awards SAB Magazine

    2018 Residential [Large] award

  • Canadian Green Building Council

    2018 Commercial/ Industrial {small} Award

  • NCSEA, USA

    2017 Excellence in Structural Engineering Award

  • The Institution of Structural Engineers, UK

    2017 Construction Innovation Award

Watch the construction timelapse video below.

Project Essentials

  • Project NameThe TallWood House at Brock Commons
  • LocationVancouver, BC
  • ClientUBC Properties Trust
  • ArchitectActon Ostry Architects & Hermann Kaufmann Architekten
  • Size157,000 ft2 (14593 m2)
  • Budget$51M
  • Sustainable FeaturesTargets LEED Gold

When the University of British Columbia proposed a 404-bed student residence tower built of wood, Fast + Epp was keen to lend our expertise to the project. We knew it could be constructed cost-competitively with a traditional concrete tower, in a fraction of the time.

 

Designed as a kit-of-parts, our solution comprised 17 storeys of five-ply cross-laminated timber floor panels, a concrete transfer slab on level two, and a steel framed roof. The cross-laminated timber panels were point-supported by glue-laminated timber columns, all resting on the concrete transfer slab, while two full-height concrete cores provided lateral stability. By utilizing the two-way spanning capabilities of cross-laminated timber, we were able to eliminate the beams of a classic post-and-beam system (along with labour-intensive connections), dramatically reducing costs and the time needed for fabrication and erection.

A key to the project’s success was early coordination. A two-storey mockup and 3D modelling allowed the design team to discuss, test and streamline the process prior to site erection. The wood structure was completed less than 70 days after the prefabricated components arrived on site – four months faster than a typical project of this size.

When completed in 2017, TallWood House was recognized as the tallest mass timber hybrid building in the world, reaching 53m.

Awards

  • BC Public Service

    2018 Premier's Award

  • Association of Consulting Engineering Companies British Columbia

    2018 Award of Excellence

  • Association of Consulting Engineering Companies British Columbia

    2018 Lieutenant Governor’s Award

  • Canadian Wood Council

    2018 Wood Innovation Award

  • Canadian Wood Council

    2018 Engineer Award

  • Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat

    2018 Innovation Award Finalist

  • Canadian Green Building Council

    2018 Commercial/ Industrial [Small] Award

  • National Council of Structural Engineers Associations, USA

    2017 Excellence in Structural Engineering Award

  • The Institution of Structural Engineers, UK

    2017 Construction Innovation Award

Watch the construction timelapse video below.